Workbench Drawer: detours in hide glue

The most expensive way to make hide glue or … the cheapest way to decide of you want to make hide glue. At the time of this post four .25oz packets were $2.29 USD

I was listening to an old Bob Rozaieski Hand Tools and Techniques podcast on hide glue and decided to dive in. I went out today and got a candle melter for 8 bucks that maintains a nice 148 F for my little Mason jar with 1 oz of glue.

Doing a 24 hour bonding test on my home made glue.

If the test glue up goes well I’m going to try my homemade glue on my drawer glue up. My backup plan is some two year old Titebind hide glue. I’m doing a 24 glue bond test for that too.

Both little blocks are poplar, same as the drawer. Stay tuned for the results. All the things I’ve read today says they should both work.

Cheers,

Chris

About senrabc

Hi, this is not really about anything. Just me testing the intertubes with my own random meanderings and thoughts. Ostensibly, big word, I’m using this site as my personal log of sorts. I’m a random guy with 4 kids and a beautiful wife living in sunny Florida. Pardon the gratuitous posts with pictures of cute kids. I have an iPhone and can’t help myself. My day job is working in the area of informatics at the University of Florida where I like the shell. Oh, yeah and incase you can’t tell I like woodworking with handtools. Goes along with my command line philosophy 😉 Thanks for reading. Christopher P. Barnes
This entry was posted in hand tools, handtool woodworking, woodworking, workshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Workbench Drawer: detours in hide glue

  1. Hi Chris
    a great book on hide glue and everything you didn’t want to know about it was written by Stephen A Shepherd. It is available on Amazon and probably on Abe books.

    • senrabc says:

      Thanks Ralph. I will check that out. I’ve become, it appears, a collector of woodworking books too. After reading one of your old posts I got the Benjamin Seaton book from the UK. I also just picked on up about the Pine Furniture of old New England.

      PS, I emailed our French plane maker and it appears he is making our planes to order. He said he plans on shipping mine next week after he’s done with a set of Hollows and Rounds, which I can only assume is you.

Leave a comment