Eclipse 10 inch vise install. Mostly done.

I’ll be writing a longer post about the craziness with the install. How I broke a No 4 plane handle just planing. How I had to shim to fix the gap from miss marking the holes, the 3 different sets of screws I had to use to get the rear jaw fom wobbling and the hole in the apron that is too big because I can’t measure. Even with all that I wasn’t done plaining the jaw liners flush for 30 seconds before she went right to work. My son CJ jumped right in and started stropping his new hobby, straight razors. I’m still happy has a clam about my new massive 10 inch vise. Thanks for reading.

Chris 

About senrabc

Hi, this is not really about anything. Just me testing the intertubes with my own random meanderings and thoughts. Ostensibly, big word, I’m using this site as my personal log of sorts. I’m a random guy with 4 kids and a beautiful wife living in sunny Florida. Pardon the gratuitous posts with pictures of cute kids. I have an iPhone and can’t help myself. My day job is working in the area of informatics at the University of Florida where I like the shell. Oh, yeah and incase you can’t tell I like woodworking with handtools. Goes along with my command line philosophy 😉 Thanks for reading. Christopher P. Barnes
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eclipse 10 inch vise install. Mostly done.

  1. You’ll have to change your home page pic now. I don’t have any #4 handles but I do have some front knobs I can give you if you ever break one of them.

  2. senrabc says:

    Lol. I do have an ugly mug. I try to stay out of the pics. Thank you Ralph. I appreciate it.

    As for the No 4. The handle can be fixed and I have another 2 Franken 4s. By that I mean, before I knew about you and Jim Bode I fell for every ebay auction I saw and then when the FedEx man came the plane frog didn’t match the body, the cap didn’t match the totes. Mishmash. My ultimate goal is to put together a set of type 11s. It will probably take a life time and when I go my biggest fear us my wife will sell them for what I said I paid for them. I stole that joke from somewhere, but I thought it was hilarious. Thanks for the offer of knobs. I’ll keep it in mind. Thanks to for all that you do. You have truly inspired me. Take Care
    Chris

Leave a Reply

