Hurricane Hermine  took out the old gate

It was a crappy gate with a z brace screwed right to a cut up piece of pressure treated fence panel. To be fair to me, it was the gate that came with the house and I just kept scabbing on to it. The 2×3 stringers were so wet and rotten that one good gust bent the crappy hinges and that’s all she wrote. I gave a brief thought to scabbing on a new z brace with new wood, banging the hinges flat and re attaching it. That is what I should have done, but Paul Sellers was in my head. He was saying I could do better. His phrase is “it’s not what you make but how you make it”. Que the mortise and tenon music. I made a new gate. It won’t win any awards, but I’m so Damn proud of it. Six tenons later I have a new gate. All by hand. All with hand tools and one cordless drill. Behold the awesomeness that is the new gate.

Lots of work for the stanley 78 and the mortise chisel. Go narex, it was great.

 

I spilt  cut the tenons. This was harry, but very fast. I recommend it. Faster than sawing. By the way, pine has knots in case you didn’t know. I apparently forgot. 😉



Old gate. Ughhhh.

Stole the design from Charles Hayward garden woodworking book.

Finally got my holdfasts holding fast. Another super time saver. No clamps to mess with. All in all, I’m happy I challenged myself to this. Took 3 days of about 5 hours of dedicated working time, but I think I could cut that in half. Now that I have some serious mortise and tenon time in. I know I only cut six. But they were through tenons in 2x4s. Hard for me nd pine is not forgiving. Lots of sharpening to keep from chopping or paring outside my lines.

Thanks

Chris

About senrabc

Hi, this is not really about anything. Just me testing the intertubes with my own random meanderings and thoughts. Ostensibly, big word, I’m using this site as my personal log of sorts. I’m a random guy with 4 kids and a beautiful wife living in sunny Florida. Pardon the gratuitous posts with pictures of cute kids. I have an iPhone and can’t help myself. My day job is working in the area of informatics at the University of Florida where I like the shell. Oh, yeah and incase you can’t tell I like woodworking with handtools. Goes along with my command line philosophy 😉 Thanks for reading. Christopher P. Barnes
This entry was posted in Meanderings, woodworking, workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

